Rose Wealth Stat-Oil Group Scam Mail

04/11/07

Permalink 05:12:54 am, by dave Email , 441 words, 2005 views   English (US)
Categories: Security, Email Scams, Phishing

Rose Wealth Stat-Oil Group Scam Mail

I received a suspicious email last night from a "Mrs Rose Wealth" about an opportunity with the "Stat-Oil Group". The first thing that tipped me off was the formatting of the email, there were no line breaks, the email appeared as one long paragraph. As I read the email, it sounded very much like a version of the foreign payment receiving officer scam.

[More:]

Since it appeared to be scam, I started digging into the message. I looked at the email headers and notice that the message had been sent from an IP Address that is assigned to Charter Communications out of St.Louis MO. Now I am not certain, but I think that a big oil company in Ireland would not be sending email soliciting work from a cable internet access provider in St. Louis MO. Then I checked into the phone number listed in the email, it comes back as a mobile (cell) phone in the UK. Again, I don't think a large Oil company would be using a cell phone number as a contact number in a recruiting email.

If you get an email like this, just delete it. If you want to go to work for StatOil, use their web site http://www.statoil.ie/.

Here is a picture of the actual email

Rose Wealth Stat-Oil Group Scam Email
Rose Wealth Stat-Oil Group Scam Email

Here is the text of the email along with all the related header information.

Return-path: <root@OgallalaKCNserver.local>
Envelope-to: [my address]@davemoats.com
Delivery-date: Tue, 10 Apr 2007 22:51:34 -0600
Received: from 71-8-237-114.static.krny.ne.charter.com ([71.8.237.114] helo=OgallalaKCNserver.local)
by [my smtp server] with esmtp (Exim 4.63)
(envelope-from <root@OgallalaKCNserver.local>)
id 1HbUnu-0006BT-C5
for [my address]@davemoats.com; Tue, 10 Apr 2007 22:51:34 -0600
Received: by OgallalaKCNserver.local (Postfix, from userid 0)
id 6717987AD410; Tue, 10 Apr 2007 22:49:16 -0600 (MDT)
To: [my address]@davemoats.com
Subject: PART TIME OR FULL TIME JOB OFFER FOR YOU/GOODPAY
From: Rose Wealth <manager@statoil.ie>
Content-Type: text/html
Message-Id: <20070411044916.6717987AD410@OgallalaKCNserver.local>
Date: Tue, 10 Apr 2007 22:49:16 -0600 (MDT)

Dear Friend

My name is Rose Wealth (Manager, PR & Public Affairs, Stat-oil Group), I am looking for a trustworthy representative in the United States that will aid as a link between me and my clients over there. I saw your RESUME and I would like to know if you are interested. Please reply only if you will like to work from home part-time and get paid weekly without leaving or it affecting your present job. (PAY IS GOOD) please do get to me ASAP through the email

for further inquires.

You can learn more about us at

www.statoil.ie

Thanks.. Warmest Regards

Mrs Rose Wealth

Stat-Oil Group

+447958113554



Did you like this post? If so, Share it!  del.icio.us digg reddit slashdot this article Facebook Twitter MySpace Email



Pingbacks:

No Pingbacks for this post yet...

This post has 14 feedbacks awaiting moderation...

IS Security

Thoughts, ideas, and concerns about Information security.

Search

Follow Me:

Misc

Who's Online?

  • Guest Users: 4

powered by b2evolution free blog software